Skip links

Transitional housing from storm extended for Columbus

FEMA’s Transitional Sheltering Assistance in North Carolina has been extended in increments of 14 days through Feb. 4, 2017. Counties that are eligible for TSA are Columbus, Cumberland, Dare, Edgecombe, Hoke, Johnston, Lenoir, Pitt, Robeson, Wayne and Wilson.
The Transitional Sheltering Assistance program will continue providing eligible applicants with lodging assistance until other viable housing options are identified. Currently, more than 1,600 households are in the TSA program.
FEMA’s Transitional Sheltering Assistance program provides short-term lodging assistance for eligible disaster survivors who are not able to return home and do not have an alternate lodging option. Under the program, FEMA and North Carolina pay the cost of the room and taxes.
Those survivors who are eligible to stay in lodging will be contacted before the end of each 14-day period and made aware of their continued eligibility and the new deadline. Those no longer eligible for the program after the current January 7 deadline or future January 21 deadline also will be contacted.
FEMA, North Carolina Emergency Management and local governments are working with survivors in the TSA program to assist them in the transition from hotel stay to other viable housing options. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) also is working with those who are eligible for HUD assistance.

Reader Interactions

Community Events

july, 2018

18jul10:00 am11:00 amWednesday Storytime

20jul6:00 pmMovies on Madison: "Star Wars: The Last Jedi"

21jul9:00 am12:00 pmMeet Me at the Museum: Banding Hummingbirds

21jul9:30 am12:00 pmAcoustic Jam at Lake Waccamaw Depot MuseumEvery third Saturday, musicians are invited to come "pick"

21jul8:00 pm10:00 pmSGA Free Family Movie Night Featuring PETER RABBITOn SCC Front Lawn

25jul10:00 am11:00 amWednesday Storytime

27julalldayNC Watermelon Festival

Show More Events

06:1520:26 EDT
Feels like: 96°F
Wind: 12mph S
Humidity: 69%
Pressure: 29.91"Hg
UV index: 4
min 74°F

Download Our App


Stay Connected

RSS National News (Via BBC News)