Sun Jan 26, 2020

Passing the gavel — Russ elected county commission chair 

Trent Burroughs, center, the outgoing chairman of the Columbus County Board of Commissioners, congratulates Edwin Russ, who was elected chairman during Monday night’s meeting. Pictured on the right is Jerome McMillan, who was named vice chair. Staff photo by Allen Turner.
By Justin Smith

Posted on: 12.4.2019 at 03:32 p.m. |

Columbus County Commissioners on Monday night unanimously elected Edwin Russ of Lake Waccamaw to serve as the board’s chair for the upcoming year. Jerome McMillan of Fair Bluff was elected vice-chair. Trent Burroughs of Tabor City had served as chair since December of 2018 and Russ served as vice chair.

Login to Access...

You have met your free view limit. To access the full article, please login or subscribe.
The News Reporter is the leading print publication dedicated to the The News Reporter lifestyle and provides readers with the information they need to live strong, vibrant, healthy lives. Subscriptions Include:
  • Immediate access to all web content.
  • Immediate accèss to our digital library of 40+ editions of The News Reporter.
  • The News Reporter delivered to your door every Tuesday and Friday.
  • Free Print Extras: 954 Mag and Flourish magazines each printed twice per year.
Subscribe Today

Reader Interactions

Community Events

january, 2020

26jan3:00 pmReuben Brown House Preservation Society Poetry ReadingCasual poetry sharing event in Whiteville

28jan6:30 pm9:00 pmColumbus County Democratic Party General Membership Meeting

NR Weather

07:1617:08 EST
Feels like: 56°F
Wind: 3mph NNE
Humidity: 24%
Pressure: 30.49"Hg
UV index: 1

Download Our App


Stay Connected

RSS National News (Via BBC News)

News reporter