Skip links

Columbus, Bladen undefeated after DYB District 2 Majors weekend

Revised on: 07.2.2018 at 12:50 p.m.

Posted on: 07.2.2018 at 12:49 p.m.

Posted 7.02.18

The opening weekend of the NC DYB District 2 Majors tournament featured two no-hitters in one game and two impressive performances by Columbus County.


Bladen County’s Shy Ratliff struck out 12 and walked four in five and one-third innings, combining with Joe Johnson to hold South Columbus hitless in a 2-0 win. South Columbus’ C.J. Hill was just as stingy hit-wise, striking out six and walking two in four innings. It was the two, two-out walks who scampered home to provide the game’s only runs after an error in the fourth inning. Ethan Cullipher retired Bladen County in order to complete the South no-no.

Columbus County held a slim 4-3 lead over Riegelwood after four innings. The County exploded  for nine runs in the top of the fifth. Riegelwood was retired in order in the bottom of the inning to secure the 13-3 run rule victory.

Evan Ward relieved Junior Stewart in the third inning to pick up the victory. Ty Bowen pitched the fifth inning.

Ty Bowen, Unique Kelly, Evan Ward, Junior Stewart and Ayden Graham had two hits for Columbus County.  C.J. Waddell and Bobby Barsh each contributed one hit. Ward scored three runs. Landon Coyle, Calvin Webb and Jaxon Lunceford had hits for Riegelwood.


Columbus County’s Evan Ward fired a complete game, two-hitter to defeat Wolfpack Optimist 8-0 in Sunday afternoon’s opening game. Ward struck out nine and walked two. Wolfpack Optimist leadoff batter J. T. Todd singled on the first pitch in the bottom of the first inning. He advanced to third, but was stranded there. Luke Odham’s fourth inning single was the only other hit for Optimist. Columbus County played error free defense.

Ward retired 17 of the final 20 Optimist batters he faced and did not allow a runner past first base after Todd reached third in the first.

C.J Waddell, Junior Stewart and Maddox Coleman each connected for two hits for Columbus County.

Riegelwood scored two unearned runs in the bottom of the fifth inning to edge South Columbus 6-5 in an elimination contest.

Payton Walker had two hits for Rieglewood. Landon Coyle added a triple. B.J. Inman, Jeffrey Robbins, Calvin Webb and Rodney Lacewell each singled. Ethan Cullipher and Jones Lay had hits for South Columbus.

Monday’s schedule has Wolfpack Optimist facing Riegelwood in 6 p.m. elimination game followed by a winner’s bracket contest between Columbus and Bladen Counties.

In Supplemental tournament play, Columbus County defeated Wolfpack Optimist 7-6 Saturday. Wolfpack Optimist topped Elizabethtown 14-0 Sunday. Columbus County plays Elizabethtown Monday at 7 p.m.

Columbus County Majors All-Stars First row: Reese Brewer, George Nance, Maddox Coleman, Triston Freeman, Bobby Barsh, Ryder Haynes. Second row: Junior Stewart, Evan Ward, Ayden Graham, Ty Bowen, CJ Waddell, Unique Kelly. Back Row: coach Tommy Fields, manager Kevin Bowen and coach Kris Ward


Reader Interactions

Community Events

november, 2018

02nov(nov 2)9:00 am30(nov 30)6:00 pmDisaster Recovery Center hours changeState/FEMA disaster recovery centers

17nov1:30 pm2:30 pmThe Life and Legacy of Millie-Christine McKoyThe North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences in Whiteville

17nov6:00 pm11:00 pmCRHS Foundation Inspiration GalaCelebrating The Golden Nurse Award

17nov8:00 pm2:00 pmColumbus County Farmers Market will re-open Saturday, November 17Farm-to-Table Fundraiser Rescheduled for November 30

24nov10:00 amScience Cinema - Disneynature’s “Bears”The North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences in Whiteville - showtimes at 10 am, 12 pm & 2 pm

29nov11:30 am1:30 pmSCC Foundation Christmas Luncheon featuring USA Today bestselling author Nancy Naigle Book-signing is from 10:30 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.

06:5017:09 EST
Feels like: 38°F
Wind: 0mph ESE
Humidity: 96%
Pressure: 30.16"Hg
UV index: 0
min 35°F

Download Our App


Stay Connected

RSS National News (Via BBC News)