Skip links

Wolfpack Optimist claim District 2 AA crown

Revised on: 06.24.2018 at 11:00 a.m.

Posted on: 06.21.2018 at 05:13 p.m.

The Wolfpack Optimist AA All-Stars defeated Riegelwood 13-2 to claim the District 2 championship Wednesday evening in Tabor City. The Wolfpack squad earned a berth in the AA state tournament June 30-July 6 in the Gaston County city of Stanley.

Players for the District 2 AA champion  Wolfpack Optimist All-Stars are McKenzie Spivey, Jayston Hunt, Sidney Miller, Briley Tedder, Luke Merritt, Aidan Williamson, Luke McClean, Jackson Stevens, Paxton Bass, Riles Richardson, Tylae Rose, Zavion Ward. Coaches are JoJo Merritt, Chase Rhodes, Matt Stevens, and Byron Tedder.

Elizabethtown defeated Wolfpack Optimist 12-10 to claim the Supplemental title.

Reader Interactions

Community Events

august, 2018

17aug(aug 17)8:00 pm18(aug 18)8:00 pm2018 State Farm Rodeo at Boys & Girls Homes Exhibition CenterFriday, August 17 & Saturday, August 18 at 8 p.m.

22aug10:00 am11:00 amWednesday Storytime

24aug8:00 pm10:00 pmSGA Free Family Movie Night Featuring PETER RABBITOn SCC Front Lawn

29aug10:00 am11:00 amWednesday Storytime

31aug5:30 pm7:30 pmTake the Plate spaghetti fundraiser dinnerKick off Take the Lake Friday night of Labor Day weekend at LW United Methodist Church

31aug6:00 pmMovies on MadisonStars Wars: The Last Jedi

Partly Cloudy
06:3819:58 EDT
Feels like: 99°F
Wind: 9mph SW
Humidity: 56%
Pressure: 29.97"Hg
UV index: 9

Download Our App


Stay Connected

RSS National News (Via BBC News)